top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCWAdmin

Running Marathons helps my mood & my health


As an asthma sufferer all my life, many activities can be hindered by my labored breathing. I remember as a child having yearly asthma attacks and being hospitalized for a week at a time due to my breathing. It's the most horrible feeling in the world to not breathe.

I do not remember a time where I haven't used my medication. I have a daily steroid inhaler as well as a rescue inhaler to use when I do activities or if something triggers my symptoms. When I have an attack (which I still do even as an adult), I also use oral steroids to bring it under control. While I know I need these medications to help me breathe, unfortunately some of the medications I took while I was younger have taken a toll on my body. They have broken down my joint material, making my knees, elbows and the like practically disintegrate. I do not have pain or discomfort currently, but I know deep down in the back of my mind as I grow older, I will be faced with pain I am sure.

While I sometimes think about the days when I won't be able to run, I enjoy my time now when I CAN run and do things I love. Like yoga, cross-training and completing more marathons & triathlons and the like. I have good days when I can feel like I can run forever and bad days when I can barely finish a short 20 minute run without using my inhaler and feeling like my lungs are going to explode. I just try not to focus on the bad runs and just make sure to keep going so my next run will be better.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page